Eastern Neighbours Film Festival was started in Utrecht 2008 by a group of friends with the aim to present to the Dutch audience the most recent, exciting films from the East and the South East European countries. These are mainly countries with a small but powerful film production. Why eastern neighbours? We feel that cinema can bring people closer to each other, make them understand each other’s culture better and deeper, give them an inside view into the mentality and history. Our aim is to bring cultures together to create more knowledge and tolerance.

The Festival is not just an event with high quality cinema. It is much more than that. We have especially designed the entire festival to initiate networking and new partnerships and create unforgettable moments for every participant and cinema goer. Most of the selected films have their Dutch premiere, after being successfully screened at many film festivals worldwide.

13th Eastern neighbours film festival

Eastern Neighbours Film Festival brings to The Netherlands exciting, relevant cinema from East and Southeast Europe. Most of the films are Dutch premieres. Next to films, we also have masterclasses, film debates, and special get-together gatherings with drinks and snacks from Eastern Europe.
Our new edition comes in April 20 to 24th 2022 in The Filmhuis Den Haag.

Trailer of the new edition by Stefan Pavlovic


Eastern Neighbours Film Festival is a project of the artTrace foundation since 2019. ARTTRACE is a cultural foundation for moving image and interdisciplinary cultural production. ArtTrace initiates, helps realise and distribute works of art and culture, more specifically aimed at visual arts and film. Based in Utrecht, Netherlands.



Festival Director
Rada Sesic

Managing Director
Kostana Banovic

Gaby Brinkman
Kristina Daurova
Marko Jovic

Production Support
John Bosters
Maarten Savelkoel
Stefan Pavlovic

Rada Sesic (Artistic Director)
Kristina Daurova (New Talents)
Stefan Pavlovic (New Talents)

Film Coordination
Oana Stupariu

Rada Sesic
Una Vrdoljak
Elsa Court
Tatjana Lisjak
Sandra Munic

Social Media
Mariana Hristova
Egon Adelsberger

Maisa Imamović
Egon Adelsberger

Technical Department
Igor Lesic
Milan Krstanovic

Milan Krstanovic
Oana Stupairu

Anna Trofimenko
Elsa Court

Mladen Pikulic

Alma Imamovic-Ivanov

Stefan Pavlovic

Rada Sesic
Zeljka Ferencic
Mariana Hristova
Oana Stupariu
Alma Imamovic-Ivanov
Kristina Daurova
Corina Burlacu
Elsa Court

Volunteers cordinator
Alma Heljic

Partners and sponsors

ENFF / artTrace Foundation

Oude Houtensepad 34

3582CX Utrecht

The Netherlands